Microsoft accused of tricking users on Windows 10 upgrade

The change took place as Microsoft labeled the update as recommended, with the majority of PC users forced to accept the update for security reasons. This isn't easy as it involves three possible methods all with drawbacks: editing the Windows registry, which isn't a simple or risk-free process; using a third-party blocking tool, which isn't guaranteed to work forever; or changing your Windows Update settings so that you have to manually approve every update. To avoid the upgrade, diehard resisters had to click a red "X" in the upper-right corner that closed the window.

There's usually no opt-out button, instead you're only given the frustrating choice to "Upgrade now" or "Start download, upgrade later" - a tactic which saw many people unwittingly upgrade their old computer to the newest version of Windows.

As the Inquirer reports, after the upgrade, the minimum amount of system memory required to run Windows 10 will be 2GB for the 32-bit version of the OS rather than 1GB, meaning it will be the same as it now is for the 64-bit version.

Microsoft has tried to clear up the issue and have said that the upgrade can still be canceled.

In this regard, the company said, "With the free Windows 10 upgrade offer ending July the 29th, we want to help people upgrade the best version of Windows".

Microsoft announced earlier this month that 300 million devices are running Windows 10 - a faster adoption rate than either of the two previous Windows versions.

 

 

Latest News