Former Broncos QB Peyton Manning named to College Football Hall of Fame

Courtesy USC Athletics

Courtesy USC Athletics Courtesy Clemson Athletics

The 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class features 10 players and three coaches.

Spurrier, Manning Enter HOF - Steve Spurrier and Peyton Manning spent the middle part of the 1990s battling each other in the annual Florida-Tennessee game, so it is somewhat appropriate that they enter the College Football Hall of Fame together.

Having Manning and Spurrier in the same class should make for some interesting conversations at the National Football Foundation induction banquet in December. Former coach Mike McGee was also inducted as player in 1990.

Manning will be eligible for the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2021. Spurrier and Manning will also participate in pregame festivities and the coin toss on the field during the championship game, including an appearance by Manning on Championship Drive at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN. He was ACC coach of the year in 1988 and 1989 and led Duke to the ACC championship and All American Bowl in 1989. The four-time All-American was the first sophomore to win the Walter Payton Award, given to the best offensive player in the Division I Football Championship Subdivision, formerly Division I-AA.

Courtesy Clemson Athletics
Courtesy USC Athletics Courtesy Clemson Athletics

Leinart completed 64.8% of his passes for 10,693 yards and 99 touchdowns during his 3 seasons (2003-05) as USC's starting quarterback, guiding the Trojans to a 37-2 record in that span. USC won the 2003 and 2004 national titles and played for the crown in 2005.

Faulk topped 1,400 yards in each of his three seasons at San Diego State and scored 57 career touchdowns. He was MVP of the 2004 Rose Bowl and 2005 Orange Bowl as the Trojans defeated MI and Oklahoma, respectively.

In 1991, Faulk became the first freshman in history to lead the nation in both scoring (140 points) and rushing (158.8 yards per game) in the same season. The Alabama graduate began his tenure at Clemson when he was just 30 years old, making his debut in the 1978 Gator Bowl which saw the Tigers defeat Woody Hayes and Ohio State 17-15.

Manning won the Maxwell, Campbell and O'Brien awards during his career at Tennessee. He moved to the University of Florida two years later where he won the national championship in 1996. There are a good number of great college football players who never reached that level of accolade, even with so many All-America teams to be recognized by various outlets.

Latest News