Yogi Adityanath chosen as Uttar Pradesh CM

Uttarakhand News

Yogi Adityanath chosen as Uttar Pradesh CM

The meeting on Saturday will be attended by party leaders Venkaiah Naidu and Bhupendra Yadav. That could have been done to balance out the caste combination - Adityanath is a Rajput and his two deputies (deputy chief ministers) Keshav Prasad Maurya is from most backward caste and Dinesh Sharma is a Brahmin.

After Trivendra Rawat - a member of the Rajput community - was appointed as the Uttarakhand chief minister, it was believed that a non-Rajput would head the Uttar Pradesh government.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has reiterated time and again that his government stands for "Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas" (development without discriminating against anyone). The BJP also concluded that swearing in ceremony of new Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister will be held tomorrow.

A short while ago, Yogi Adityanath arrived at the venue of meeting of BJP MLAs.

Slogans of Yogi, Yogi have dominated the BJP's MLA meet in Lucknow as speculations over the Uttar Pradesh's chief minister's name continued to grow. Modi has successfully aligned governance at Centre and state under his command to develop the state at a speed that was not seen so far, for job creation, for farmers welfare, for hope and aspiration.

As a Union Minister of Communication and minister of the state of Railways, Manoj sustains a deliberately low profile but is seen as a honest silent performer.

The RSS, which at one point was rooting for someone more seasoned with wider acceptability and administrative acumen, agreed to Modi's proposal, clearing the decks for Adityanath's appointment. BJP national president Amit Shah called Adityanath - who was in Gorakhpur - over the phone, asking him to leave for Delhi immediately. In 1998, he was elected to 12 Lok Sabha when he was just 26 years old. "As a friend of the Bisht family, Chander Prakash Lakhera says, it is great news and we are overjoyed with the development".

The BJP, which won three-fourths majority in the 403-member House, is returning to power after 14 years.

Until Friday, Union Minister Manoj Sinha, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, UP BJP chief Keshav Prasad Maurya and eight-time MLA from Shahjahanpur Suresh Khanna were being projected as the top contenders for the post by their partymen.

Latest News