Communion wafers can not be gluten-free, says Pope Francis

Benedictine Sister of Perpetual Adoration Marie Jona Yoo pours batter on a hot plate used to bake low-gluten altar breads

Benedictine Sister of Perpetual Adoration Marie Jona Yoo pours batter on a hot plate used to bake low-gluten altar breads

At the request of Pope Francis, the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments sent a note to the Bishops of the catholic church, establishing a few rules for the Eucharist.

Many people follow a gluten-free diet religiously, but Catholic dieters will have to make an exception to ingest the bread of the Eucharist. Apparently this recent reminder on what is and isn't allowed for consumption during communion has become necessary now these items are no longer only produced within religious communities but "are also sold in supermarkets and other stores and even over the internet".

According to the new ruling, bread if made from or even mixed with a substance other than wheat "does not constitute valid matter for confecting the Sacrifice and the Eucharistic Sacrament".

For Roman Catholics, the bread and wine served at the Eucharist are turned into the body...

In America and Europe, bread with trace amounts of gluten-about 20 parts per million-legally meets the definition "gluten-free".

For example, the United Methodist Church released a document in 2003, titled "This Holy Mystery", which encouraged providing gluten-free bread for those with certain health needs.

The letter also reminds the Bishops that the wine must be "fruit of the grape" and not mixed with anything else.

While global news reports have caused concern stating that the Roman Catholic Church will not allow its congregations to be given gluten-free hosts, the Curia has said that there has been no change in the hosts already used by coeliacs.

'Great care should be taken so that the wine intended for the celebration of the Eucharist is well conserved and has not soured'. The use of such items is permitted, but it is the responsibility of the priest to ensure they are of good quality.

Everyone's favorite "cool Pope" isn't down with every new trend: if you're gluten-free, communion will continue to be hard for you.

You shouldn't find it odd that the bread and wine for Communion should be pure. This is fair enough... if you actually have been diagnosed with Coeliac disease or a gluten allergy.

The Eucharist - or Holy Communion - involves eating the "flesh" and drinking the "blood" of Christ.

"Medical certification of a condition justifying the use of mustum or low-gluten hosts for Holy Communion is not required".

Latest News