Special EC pens for Presidential poll

Special EC pens for Presidential poll

Special EC pens for Presidential poll

Fifty-five MPs had sought permissions to cast their vote in state capitals.

The four BJP MLAs also cast their votes along with their ally.

The EC has allowed 14 Rajya Sabha members and 41 Lok Sabha members to vote in state legislative assemblies instead of the Parliament.

Among state assemblies, Uttar Pradesh has the maximum number of women votes (8,320), followed by West Bengal (6,191) and Madhya Pradesh (4,192), the report added.

Of the 234 MLAs in the state, excluding the RK Nagar constituency, which had fallen vacant after the death of former chief minister J Jayalalithaa, all others are eligible to vote. Members of Legislative Council (MLCs) will not participate in Presidential Election 2017. The Congress legislators later gathered at the Punjab Bhawan here for a meeting on the issue.

Goa Assembly has 40 members.

A total of 776 MPs and 4,120 MLAs were eligible to vote.

"Hope the Electoral College picks the custodian of India's Constitution thoughtfully: Vote to uphold Constitutional Values of our Republic", party general secretary Sitaram Yechury said on Twitter. The counting of votes is scheduled to start at 11 a.m. on July 20. Results will be declared that day.

Ruling NDA's Presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind has clear edge in terms of numbers.

The JD (S) has chose to support joint Opposition candidate, Meira Kumar.

The voting for electing the next President of India is all set to happen on Monday.

He said the voting went off smoothly.

Former deputy chief minister Ajit Pawar also reached the polling centre early to cast his vote.

"This ideology is of social justice, inclusiveness, secularism, transparency, freedom of expression, freedom of press and total destruction of the caste system". Meira Kumar was announced as the Indian National Congress (INC)-lead opposition's candidate for the post of President of India on 22 June 2017.

"The forces which are present should be decimated". The recent political updates of the political leaders of non-NDA parties namely AIADMK, YSRCP, JD (U), BJD, TRS, INLD and IND have expressed their stand to support the candidate of NDA. "We are part of the NDA".

Latest News