Himachal Pradesh Elections 2017: BJP releases a list of 68 candidates

Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi with mother Sonia

Himachal Pradesh Elections 2017: BJP releases a list of 68 candidates

Himachal Pradesh Assembly elections for 68 seats will be held on November 9 and the counting of votes will take place on 18th December.

Chief minister Virbhadra Singh who had announced to contest elections from Theog two days ago is once again reconsidering his decision and weighing his options from Arki in Solan district.

The party's central election committee had met on October 15 to discuss the candidates but did not announce the names, leading to speculation that there might have been disagreement on some names. He was earlier a minister in the Virbhadra Singh government.

Former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, who will contest from Sujanpur, has not been named the CM candidate but he would lead the BJP as all others for the CM " s post do not figure in the list, including his MP son Anurag Thakur, Union Health Minister Jagat Prasad Nadda and former CM Shanta Kumar.

Singh had contested from Shimla (Rural) constituency in 2012 polls which he has now vacated for his son, Vikramaditya Singh to start his political innings in Himachal Pradesh. The Congress has fielded all its senior state leaders for the election.

According to the Congress' list, Virbhadra Singh, who represented Shimla Rural in the outgoing assembly, will contest from Arki and the state party chief Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu will from Nadaun.

The filing of nomination is scheduled to begin on October 16 and conclude on October 23.

Susheel Kumar filed his nomination as the BSP candidate from Indora (SC) seat, Bidhi Chand from Fatehpur as Independent, Mujhesh Kumar from Jaswan-Pragpur as Independent, and Nisha Katoch from Dharamsala as the Savabhiman Party candidate. The polls are important for the BJP because the election is a direct contest with the ruling Congress party. The single-phase election will be held on November 9.

Latest News