Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi dies; ex-AIFF chief, Congressman was 72

Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi dies; ex-AIFF chief, Congressman was 72

Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi dies; ex-AIFF chief, Congressman was 72

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has condoled the demise of veteran Congress leader and former Union minister Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi.

He is survived by wife Deepa Dasmunsi, who's also a Congress leader and former minister, and son Priyadeep Dasmunshi. During his time, even as the country's footballing fortunes did not really soar, the national league was instituted which Das Munshi kept alive with sponsorship that was rare in those days of thrift. "My condolences to his family and associates", he added. He was hospitalised since then. He was critically ill for the past one month and unfortunately succumbed to his illness.

President of the AIFF from 1988 to 2008, Dasmunsi was the first Indian to serve as a match commissioner in a FIFA World Cup game.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.

New Delhi Congress president Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury has informed Sonia Gandhi about Dasmunsi's demise. Dasmunshi, also a diabetic, suffered the heart attack the same year in July on way to Kolkata from Malda district in northwest Bengal, after attending a Congress party meeting.

She said that the enormous work of Dasmunsi would be remembered for posterity and remained popular in the imagination of his people despite his prolonged illness.

The Congress leader had suffered a brain stroke in 2008 and was admitted to AIIMS.

He was admitted to Calcutta's Apollo Gleneagles hospital where he underwent angioplasty to unblock two blood vessels.

He had begun his political career with the Indian Youth Congress before entering Parliament in 1971. "He will be greatly remembered for his contributions, especially to Indian Football", @INCIndia, the official Twitter account of the Congress tweeted.

Expressing her solidarity with his family and supporters, particularly his wife, Deepa Dasmunsi, Gandhi prayed for peace of the departed soul. He served as the Union Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Minister of Information and Broadcasting from 2004 to 2008, during the first term of the UPA government led by Manmohan Singh.

Latest News