Instagram Now Lets Users Highlight And Archive Expired Stories

Like your Instagram Story? Now you can save it to your profile.

Instagram launches biggest change to profiles in years, adding new stories and archive features

Instagram introduced two new features for its oh-so-popular photo sharing app this week - Stories Highlights and Stories Archive. And the best part is that only you who can see your "Story Archive'". Your highlight will appear as a circle on your profile that can be played as a stand-alone story. One of those features is the ability for users to archive their Stories, whereas before users could only choose to download them, as opposed to archiving it.

The new Stories Archive features goes hand-in-hand with Highlights. Under this feature your archived stories will highlight over your profile.

Instagram is providing its userbase with more Stories-related features. They will automatically be saved in the Stories Archive. You'll then be prompted to select stories from your archive. The basics of what this allows you to do is take Stories that you've shared and group them into a featured post right on the top of your profile page.

Instagram has announced an update in which it will affect the Stories feature. From there, you can easily switch between your Posts Archive and your new Stories Archive.

The private archive was not all there is today-Instagram also launched a new tool called Stories Highlights. This will appear in a new section in the user's profile just below their bio.

Instagram Stories Archive and Highlights one-up Snapchat Memories, which only lets your repost old clips to your current Story.

There will be date label on each story. Moving forward, your stories will automatically save to your Stories Archive. So from today you can save your stories for a period more than 24 hours.

Of course, if you don't want to save those moments, you can opt out, according to Instagram. They'll remain visible unless you delete them, and you can remove clips but not reorder them. That meant it could feel like you were spamming friends if you wanted to share niche content, deterring content creation.

Latest News