As Tripura Votes Tomorrow, Left Front's 25-Year Run Faces BJP Hurdles

74% Voter Turnout Recorded In Tripura Assembly Polls

As Tripura Votes Tomorrow, Left Front's 25-Year Run Faces BJP Hurdles

The voter turnout is likely to rise as queues were seen at polling stations even at 9 pm.

In the last state assembly polls in Tripura, a 91.82 percent voter turnout was recorded. On Sunday, based on details made available by local poll authorities, the commission had put the figure at 76%.

Voting for the 60 seat Tripura Assembly election began at 8 a.m.

The polling in the reserved Charilam seat of the state has been rescheduled to March 12 due to the death of CPI-M candidate Ramendra Narayan Debbarma, media report said.

Analyzing the affidavits declared by the chief ministers of the three poll-bound states, it is clear that Nagaland CM TR Zeliang is the richest CM among the trio followed by Meghalaya CM Mukul Sangma while Tripura CM Manik Sarkar remains the poorest CM not only in Northeast but the entire country.

The Congress, which has been marginalised in Tripura, was last in power between February 1988 and March 1993. Meanwhile, the Congress is going alone on all 59 seats. The CPI (M) has fielded 57 candidates, while the BJP has fielded 51 candidates leaving the rest of the constituencies for its alliance partner "Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura".

However, the BJP has been criticised by the Left for tying up with the IPFT that wants a separate state of Tipraland to be carved out of Tripura for tribal-dominated areas, despite BJP saying that it is against the bifurcation of the state.

The BJP is making a determined bid to demolish the red bastion of 25 years, with stalwarts like Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party chief Amit Shah leading the charge.

He said Director General of Indo Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) R K Pachnanda has been appointed as a special observer to coordinate the security forces deployed in the state. The party has not fielded any candidate for Kakrobon constituency in Gomati district.

According to the alleged rumours, if someone votes for the BJP, the sound from the EVM would be louder and also there would be cameras in every polling booth through which the Left party workers would be able to keep a watch on the polling process, it said. Tripura Congress president Birajit Sinha cast his vote at Kailashahar in Unakoti district.

Latest News