BJP names Rajeev Chandrasekhar as Rajya Sabha candidate from Karnataka

West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee at the flagging off event for a fleet of new passenger buses and fire brigade vehicles in Howrah near on Tuesday

West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee

Left Front Chairman Biman Bose on Friday flayed the Congress high command for "unilaterally announcing" their nominee in the coming Rajya Sabha election in West Bengal, while the two parties were still discussing fielding a common candidate.

Meanwhile, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) had fielded Manoj Jha and Ashfaque Karim as Rajya Sabha candidates. The party opted for Syed Naseer Hussain as its third candidate. Party sources said that the BJP leadership seems to have nixed the possibility of accommodating any one remotely close to any other leader.

In Madhya Pradesh too, the BSP will back the Congress while in Assam, Badruddin Ajmal's All India United Democratic Front has pledged its support to the Congress.

Former Kerala BJP president V Muraleedharan will contest from Maharashtra in the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections. The BJP, with 43 assembly seats, is just one short of the required 44 votes. "Public are intelligent and are watching their give and take". What could make it even more hard for him is the fielding of a Vokkaliga Congress candidate, Chandrasekhar, complicating matters for the Vokkaliga dominated JD (S). Party chief Om Prakash Rajbhar, a minister, has been speaking against the government in public meetings. A candidate needs 44 votes to win and Congress is confident of winning three seats comfortably as the party can count on the support of some independents and 7 JD (S) rebel MLAs. While another party leader Naresh Agarwal's term was also ending with that of Jaya Bachchan, the wife of Bollywood legend Amitabh Bachchan was picked by the SP leadership for the seat. The BSP candidate is former MLA Bhim Rao Ambedkar.

Of these 10, four are now held by the NCP, one by the Congress, two by the BJP, and one each by the Shiv Sena, the Lok Bharati.

Latest News