Karnataka Election 2018: Voting Dates, Election Results, Polling Schedule, FAQs Answered

Amit Shah's faux pas creates a flutter

Karnataka Election 2018: Voting Dates, Election Results, Polling Schedule, FAQs Answered

He appealed to the media to highlight any activity that does not comply with the Model Code of Conduct.

The government also can not transfer officers who connected with the conduct of elections including Deputy Commissioners, senior police officers, Returning Officers etc.

"It will be a single phase election", Chief Election Commissioner O.P. Rawat told reporters here.

Also, the polling will be conducted by using both Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and Voter-Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) devices.

The Election Commission (EC) of India has announced the schedule and dates for Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 on Tuesday.

"We explained to the Election Commission on the confusing tweet on election dates by our IT chief that it was based on a TV channel (report) that reported the news on the basis of a source". It will be investigated. He is running a strong and high-pitched election campaign.

The term of Karnataka's 224-seat assembly comes to an end on 28 May and the new government must be in place before that.

In August previous year, C-Fore, a research organisation, had claimed that the Congress might win 120 to 132 seats, while the BJP, which has been trying hard to oust Siddaramaiah, would finish second with 60 to 72 seats.

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah said: "Amit Shah has spoken the truth, it's not a mistake, he is right". If BJP manages to form its government in Karnataka, it will be in power on its own or in an alliance in 22 states.

Congress leaders Randeep Singh Surjewala, Manish Tewari and Jyotiraditya Scindia said in tweets that the declaration of the date by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) functionary is unprecedented and imperils democracy. However, the party was voted out following corruption allegations against BS Yeddyurappa, who is the BJP's chief ministerial face this time around too. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has already addressed eight rallies in the state; Congress president Rahul Gandhi and BJP president Amit Shah have visited the state four times over the past few months.

Latest News