Kohli, Dhoni rested for upcoming T20I tri-series

Team India's squad for Sri Lanka tri-series announced Virat Kohli MS Dhoni rested

Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni

"We've kept in mind the workload and upcoming schedule while finalising the team for Nidahas Trophy".

After this assignment, India would be participating in the Nidahas Trophy in Sri Lanka, which would be a tri-nation T20 contest comprising of teams like, Sri Lanka, India and Bangladesh. Among some of the youngsters, Delhi keeper-batsman Rishabh Pant could could get the nod as chief selector MSK Prasad was seen having a chat with him, during a Vijay Hazare match at the Palam cricket ground recently.

It will be interesting to see whether Rohit Sharma recreates the same magic by leading team in the T20 series, the same way when the team whitewashed Sri Lankan side in the Twenty20 worldwide series in December 2017.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has made a decision to rest captain Virat Kohli, wicketkeeper MS Dhoni and pacers Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya for the series.

In the absence of pacers Bhuvneshwar and Bumrah, the responsibility will be on Jaydev Unadkat and Shardul Thakur - both were in the victorious team in South Africa. Besides Chahal, spinners Akshar Patel and Washington Sundar are also in the squad.

"MS Dhoni was not available for selection as he had requested for rest", he added.The three teams will play two matches against each other and top two teams will go for the finals on March 18.

While Dinesh Karthik has been named as the main wicketkeeper in the team, Delhi's Rishabh Pant also features in the squad. However, team India will be able to test its bench strength in this low-key T20I series.

India announced as many as five changes as they brought in Deepak Hooda and Washington Sundar. Dhawan will be Rohit's deputy.

India will be a part of the curtain raiser of the Nidahas Trophy, against Sri Lanka on March 6.

Latest News