Meghalaya assembly elections 2018: NPP-led alliance all set to form govt

Meghalaya Assembly Poll Trends Congress Shows Early Leads CM Mukul Sangma Leading In Songsak

Meghalaya assembly elections 2018: NPP-led alliance all set to form govt

Despite the Congress staking claims to form the government in Meghalaya as the single largest party on Saturday night with 21 seats, the National People's Party-led alliance will be forming the government in the state, with Conrad Sangma as the Chief Minister.

The People's Democratic Front (PDF) bagged four seats, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and the Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement (KHNAM) and three Independents got one seat each. NPP leader Conrad Sangma, who is now a Lok Sabha MP from Tura, will be sworn in as the chief minister in Shillong on Tuesday.

In 2016, Sangma elected to 16th Lok Sabha in a bye-election from Tura Parliamentary constituency.

Previous year the Congress had failed to form governments in Manipura and Goa despite emerging as the single-largest party in booth assemblies.

The governor accepted the resignation and asked Sangma to be in charge till a new government is formed, a Raj Bhavan official said.

"Our stand right from before the election was to have a non-Congress non-BJP government".

BJP state president Biplab Kumar Deb along with his wife and central observer Sunil Deodhar led the rally as large numbers of supporters were dancing to the tune of the music with victory sign.

Congress has sent senior party leaders Kamal Nath, Mukul Wasnik and Ahmed Patel to Shillong to avert Manipur and Goa like situation. BJP had won only two seats. The United Democratic Party (UDP) won six seats while its alliance partner the HSPDP won two seats. The Congress' lack of foresight in anticipating all kinds of results was once again sorely exposed even as BJP's Ram Madhav and Himanta Biswas Sarma ensured that they struck a deal in less than 24 hours. Tripura MLAs to meet on March 6 Newly elected MLAs of the BJP and its ally Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT) in Tripura will meet on March 6 to elect their leader, state BJP president Biplab Deb said in Agartala on Sunday. The resultant anti-incumbency and BJP holding power at the Centre played its part in non-Congress parties coming together, facilitated by the BJP.

"After a review of the law-and-order situation we have recommended retention of 11 companies of CAPF which will be deployed at the strong room in East Jaintia Hills district and in few pockets of the state capital", he said.

"They want to fire from the shoulder of other political parties", the outgoing chief minister told reporters after submitting his resignation from the post.

Latest News