Tiger commits to PLAYERS Championship, Wells Fargo

In 2007 Tiger Woods won the Wachovia Championship now known as the Wells Fargo Championship. Organizers are waiting to see if he will return for next week's event

Tiger commits to PLAYERS Championship, Wells Fargo

Tiger Woods is heading back to Charlotte.

"Break over time to get back to work", Woods posted on his Twitter site in announcing his next two starts, the Wells Fargo Championship next week and The Players. "We're working on a couple things".

Woods last won The PLAYERS in 2013, which was the previous year he managed to take first in any tournament. The course also played host to the 2017 PGA Championship, won by Justin Thomas. Woods won the tournament in 2007.

After four back surgeries prompted a lengthy absence from the Tour, Woods has given fans hope of a return to some of his best form this season, after successive top-five finishes at the Valspar Championship and the Arnold Palmer Invitational in March.

The Wells Fargo Championship runs May 3-6.

Tiger Woods, one of the most decorated golfers of all time, is expected to tee off in the Queen City next week, according to a report from NBC's Golf Central. The 14-time major champion and victor of 79 PGA Tour events has five career top-10 finishes at the Stadium Course.

Woods is now 50th in the FedEx Cup standings and is ranked 91st in the Official World Golf Ranking.

Latest News