O'Shaughnessy supports decision to ban Chinese broadcasters

SuRie at Eurovision 2018

GETTY DRAMATIC Su Rie was left without a microphone for 15 seconds

There is also a "mother trophy" with a generic Eurovision Song Contest logo, which finds its home in the reception area of the European Broadcasting Union's headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland.

The EBU, in return, barred Mango TV from broadcasting Thursday's second semifinal and the final, which involves acts from 26 countries.

It became known that the representative of Ukraine MELOVIN will open the Grand final.

With the semi finals out of the way, 43 countries will take part in Saturday's event at the Altice Arena in Lisbon.

There will also be a Eurovision 2018 playlist available on Amazon Music with all of the competitors' singles.

Such censorship is perhaps unsurprising from a country which has a history of media censorship.

China has blurred LGBT symbols out of its Eurovision coverage.

In addition to China and Australia, the first edition of that contest is expected to include Hong Kong, Japan, Kazakhstan, Maldives, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea and Vanuatu.

Despite an ever-increasing number of TV music contests such as Pop Idol, fans say the show - the longest-running global TV competition according to Guinness World Records - is in a category of its own. Portugal is also through to the finals, since Portuguese singer Salvador Sobral won the contest previous year.

Mango TV failed to immediately answer a CNN petition for comment.

O'Shaughnessy said he was glad the EBU stood up for diversity.

Ireland's entry Ryan O'Shaughnessy backed the ban, telling the BBC: "I would like to welcome the decision by the EBU to do that because from the very start we have just said love is love".

Michael Idato is a Senior Writer based in Los Angeles for The Sydney Morning Herald.

Latest News