Facebook announced yesterday that a recent bug affected more than 800,000 users' privacy settings, allowing blocked users on Facebook and Messenger to become unblocked without a user's knowledge or consent. Facebook will, however, also send you a notification if you were affected by this particular bug to ask you to check your blocked list again.
The problem didn't give blocked individuals full access to a person's account, but "they could have seen things posted to a wider audience".
Facebook is sending an alert to the users via its app, letting them know the length of time the bug was active and that it has been fixed.
Facebook is primarily about connecting with other people, but its "block" functionality certainly has its place for avoiding those you don't want to be in touch with for one reason or another. "For example pictures shared with friends of friends".
The company said Monday that the bug was active between May 29 and June 5. While that may sound harmless - affecting only a tiny fraction of the 2.4 billion Facebook users - the bug isn't good news for anyone using Facebook's blocking feature to protect themselves from abuse and harassment.
When a user blocks someone on Facebook they can not see things posted by the user, start conversations with the user on Messenger or add as a friend. To be sure, the company's transparency and clear communication on this latest one is admirable, but you can see how it adds up to death by a thousand cuts if Facebook can't somehow turn things around when it comes to public perception. The Cambridge Analytica scandal, which unfolded in March, affected more than 8.7 crore users.