Nintendo is rolling out its Switch Online service next week

You'll be able to play Super Mario Bros. 3 on your Nintendo Switch next Tuesday.                  Nintendo

You'll be able to play Super Mario Bros. 3 on your Nintendo Switch next Tuesday. Nintendo

The release date for the much-anticipated service was revealed on Wednesday, when Nintendo also said its delayed Direct will be streamed on Thursday at 3 p.m. PT (6 p.m. ET/11 p.m. GMT/9:00 a.m. Friday AEST).

Will you be signing up for Switch Online once it debuts on September 18th?

So, we now know nothing more about Nintendo Switch Online beyond that it will launch on September 18 in North America and come with a week-long free trial - the service launches in just six days.

Nintendo has been drip-feeding details about the service for months, starting with confirmation that subscribers will have access to classic NES games with additional modern features such as online play and voice chat.

The site also lists Soccer, Balloon Fight, Tennis, Ice Climber, Donkey Kong, Dr. Mario, Mario Bros., The Legend of Zelda, Super Mario Bros., and Super Mario Bros. However, it looks as if Nintendo will be shedding some more light on the matter tomorrow, when it will be hosting a new Direct presentation.

The Nintendo Switch Online service will be available in four different plans: individual memberships for one, three, and 12 months at $3.99 USD, $7.99 USD, and $19.99 USD, respectively, and a "Family Membership" for 12 months for $34.99 USD.

Latest News