Delhi Daredevils Change Name to Delhi Capitals

India Premier League 2019 Delhi Daredevils Franchise Officially Renamed as Delhi Capitals | WATCH

Delhi Daredevils Change Name to Delhi Capitals

Besides the name change, the owners have also unveiled a new logo.

Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Delhi Daredevils were on Tuesday renamed as Delhi Capitals and the announcement was made in a function in the capital by owners GMR Group and JSW Sports. "We wanted this name to mean something to each and everyone from Delhi", said JSW Sports' Director Parth Jindal during the update. In the United States, there is an ice hockey team called Washington Capitals, which plays in the National Hockey League. Going by the tagline "A New Delhi Rises", the event was broadcast live on its official Instagram and Facebook pages too.

Ahead of the next year IPL auctions, Delhi released their former captain Gautam Gambhir along with Jason Roy, Glenn Maxwell and Liam Plunkett and Mohammed Shami. While former Australian captain Ricky Ponting continues as the coach, Mohammad Kaif ha replaced Pravin Amre as his assistant.

Hailed as perennial underachievers in the history of IPL, Delhi were in the news lately for surprising their fans ahead of the IPL player auction 2019. Delhi have also managed to bring back a world-class player in Shikhar Dhawan, in exchange for Abhishek Sharma, Vijay Shankar and Shahbaz Nadeem - who were traded with Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Coming to the core squad, they have retained Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Chris Morris and also the Nepal Spinner.

Delhi are yet to win their maiden IPL title despite participating in all 11 editions.

They finished last in 2018, winning just five of their 14 games.

Latest News