How Onyango, Desabre voted in Caf Player of the Year Awards

Africa’s best of the year The winner is the winners are

How Onyango, Desabre voted in Caf Player of the Year Awards

Egyptian forward Mohamed Salah was crowned African footballer of the year for the second time in a row on Tuesday night, but much of the talk was about the Liverpool star's clunky dancefloor moves at the glitzy ceremony.

For the second year in a row, Salah beat the same two finalists - Liverpool's Sadio Mane and Arsenal forward Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang - to win the vote.

Salah, Mane, Aubameyang, Riyadh Mahrez (Algeria), Naby Keita (Guinea), Thomas Partey (Ghana), Eric Bailly (Ivory Coast) Medhi Benatia (Morocco), Serge Aurier (Ivory Coast), Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal) and Denis Onyango (Uganda) made the list for the continent's top 11 players. Ahead of the event, CAF Executive Committee has awarded the hosting rights for 2019 AFCON to Egypt.

He was joined onstage by Reds teammate Sadio Mane at the awards ceremony.

Cameroon was scheduled to host this summer's tournament but it was stripped of the honour in November due to slow preparations.

From leading Egypt to their first World Cup since 1990, to reaching the Champions League final in May, to breaking the Premier League's seasonal goalscoring record in his debut campaign for Liverpool, it was quite a year.

The Egyptian netted a massive 44 goals in all competitions last season and he has continued that form this time round with 13 Premier League efforts to his name.

Salah blossomed in Rome, averaging close to a goal every two matches, and Liverpool paid nearly €41 millionn (£37 million) to sign him two years ago.

He returned to score against hosts Russian Federation and Saudi Arabia, but the Pharaohs exited their first appearance at the global showpiece in 28 years without securing even one point. Kgatlana also took the Goal of the Year award.

Latest News