Zach Johnson knocks ball off tee with practice swing at the Masters

Watch: Zach Johnson Accidentally Hits Ball on Practice Swing at the Masters

Watch: Zach Johnson accidentally hits ball with practice swing at Masters

"In a scene common to casual golfers but hardly ever seen at the professional level, Johnson sent his ball errantly out to the right after getting just a little too close while taking a practice stroke before teeing off".

-Accidentally strikes the ball when making a practice swing or while preparing to make a stroke.

Johnson said after the round when told video of the swing existed.

The most impressive part of the sequence is that Johnson then stepped up and bombed a ideal drive down the middle of the fairway. However, because the rules state a ball is not in play until after the tee shot, Johnson was able to re-tee it and hit away. "I don't think I could do it again if I tried".

"Zach's eyes were as big as I've ever seen them".

The good news for Johnson: He hit his actual drive 285 yards down the middle of the fairway, knocked his second shot to 30 feet and two-putted for birdie on the 510-yard, par-5 hole.

"There's a first for everything boys", Johnson added.

Unfortunately for Johnson, his weekend prospects look slim after two consecutive bogeys on the final two holes of his round have left him looking very vulnerable at +3, with current leaders Francesco Molinari and Jason Day sharing the clubhouse lead at -7.

Playing in consecutive groups during the second round Friday, Kisner and Johnson had some, let's just say, interesting moments.

Latest News