The lower house of the Missouri general assembly passed a bill on Friday to prohibit women from seeking an abortion after the eighth week of pregnancy, days after Alabama enacted the most restrictive abortion law in the US. The 110-44 vote in favor of HB 126 came as protesters outside chanted "shame, shame, shame" and "when politicians lie, people die".
Less than a third of Alabamians indicated previous year that they approved of the provisions of the abortion ban passed by the state Legislature earlier this week and signed by Gov. Kay Ivey on Wednesday, according to polling conducted on behalf of Planned Parenthood's southeast affiliates. The legislation's sponsors said it was crafted as a challenge to the Supreme Court's 1973 Roe v. Wade decision.
On Wednesday, Alabama Gov. Kay Ivey signed a bill banning abortions after two weeks' gestation except in cases of a "serious health risk".
Missouri Republicans said the legislation was created to withstand court challenges.
This week the state of Alabama enacted one of the strictest anti-abortion measures in US history.
Missouri Republicans are taking a different approach.
The Missouri legislation comes after Alabama's governor signed a bill Wednesday making performing an abortion a felony in almost all cases.
Opponents of the legislation, including the American Civil Liberties Union and Planned Parenthood, have vowed to sue to block the measure if it becomes law.
The Missouri House of Representatives passed the "Missouri Stands With the Unborn Act" after the publication of this post.
"An overwhelming majority of Missourians-Democrats, Independents, self-described pro-choice voters, women in greater numbers than men-agree that abortion on demand through birth, even when science informs us unborn children can feel excruciating pain, is extreme", she said in a statement.
"We're going to fight every right-wing lawmaker's attempt to overturn Roe vs Wade", Warren said. Doctors could face up to a maximum prison sentence of 99 years if found guilty, while an attempted abortion holds a sentence of up to 10 years in prison.
It also requires a parent or guardian giving written consent for a minor to get an abortion to first notify the other parent, except if the other parent has been convicted of a violent or sexual crime, is subject to a protection order or is "habitually in an intoxicated or drugged condition".