A first violation has a $30 fine, while a second violation has a $60 fine - don't forget court fees and costs, either.
A new vaping law goes into effect, banning vaping and e-cigarettes in indoor workplaces.
Starting Monday, drivers can get pulled over for texting and driving in Florida as a new law banning the behavior went into effect in the southeastern USA state.
AAA said in a news release that there were over 51,000 crashes involving distracted drivers in 2018.
Under the new law passed by the Florida Legislature and signed by Gov. Ron DeSantis, law enforcement will now have the authority to pull over drivers just for texting and driving.
The Chicago Tribune reports that a year ago Illinois State Police issued 15,150 citations for distracted driving. We've known for years that this is a deadly behavior.
Starting July 1, law enforcement will begin cracking down on these laws.
So, what is still legal when it comes to cell phone use in vehicles?
Beginning January 1, 2020, motorists who are stopped and ticketed for texting while driving, or using their phone in any way in school and work zones will begin receiving fines.